DIW-922 Live in Japan '96

Berlin Contemporary Jazz Orchestra

Thomas Heberer, Henry Lowther, Axel Dörner, Issei Igarashi, trumpets; Marc Boukouya, Paul Rutherford, Wolter Wierbos, Haruki Sato, trombones; Walter Gauchel, tenor saxophone; Evan Parker, tenor and soprano saxophone; Gerd Dudek, tenor and soprano saxophones, flute, clarinet; Rudy Mahall, bass clarinet; Eiichi Hayashi, alto saxophone; Hiroaki Katayama, tenor and baritone saxophones; Alexander von Schlippenbach, piano, conductor; Aki Takase, piano, conductor; Nobuyoshi Ino, bass; Paul Lovens, drums.

  1. Eric Dolphy medley: the prophet; serene; Hat and beard (17.04)
  2. The morlocks (15.46)
  3. Shijo no ai (06.21)
  4. Way down south where the blues began (12.18)
  5. Jackhammer (10.29)
  6. Goodbye (04.17)
Recorded live at Shin-Kobe Oriental Theatre on August 6 1996, except track 2 at Nakano ZERO Hall, Tokyo on 31 July 1996.

Cover design (reproduced above) by Yuri Takase.

Go to abbreviated list of DIW CDs or to Independent record labels page.