Ogun OGCD 017/018 Bra Louis - Bra Tebs/Spirits rejoice!

Louis Moholo-Moholo

Louis Moholo-Moholo Septet: Louis Moholo-Moholo, drums; Francine Luce, voice; Jason Yarde, alto saxophone, soprano saxophone; Toby Delius, tenor saxophone; Claude Deppa, trumpet; Pule Pheto, piano; Roberto Bellatalla, double bass.
    Ogun OGCD 017: Bra Louis - Bra Tebs
  1. Sonke (05.41)
  2. Lakutshona Ilanga/Ntyilo-Ntyilo (05.03)
  3. Unisone (02.44)
  4. B my dear (07.01)
  5. Maybe of cause (04.50)
  6. Utshaka (06.57)
  7. Moegoe (02.36)
  8. Motherless child (07.01)
  9. Yes please (03.09)
  10. Hayi umntu endinguye (09.19)
  11. Yes baby, no baby (04.47)
  12. Ntyilo-Ntyilo (04.41)
Recorded at RG Jones, London, 1995; produced by Steve Beresford; remixed in 2004 by Louis Moholo-Moholo and Evan Parker.

Louis Moholo-Moholo Octet: Louis Moholo-Moholo, drums; Evan Parker, tenor saxophone; Kenny Wheeler, trumpet; Nick Evans, trombone; Radu Malfatti, trombone; Keith Tippett, piano; Johnny Dyani, bass; Harry Miller, bass.

    Ogun OGCD 018: Spirits rejoice!
  1. Khany apho ukhona (Shine wherever you are) (07.46)
  2. You ain't gonna know me 'cos you think you know me (07.15)
  3. Ithi gqi (Appear) (08.09)
  4. Wedding hymn (09.44)
  5. Amaxesha osizi (Times of sorrow) (11.10)
Recorded at Redan Recorders, London, 1978. Originally released on LP in 1978 as OG 520.

Front cover photograph (reproduced above) by Lorenzo Scaraggi; design by Strong Silent Type.

Go to complete list of Ogun CDs, list of Ogun LPs or Independent Recording Labels Page